Thursday, March 4, 2010

“Hi, this is your photo ?” - Remove This MSN/Windows Live Messenger Virus


Internet is a place which is flooded with security problems and viruses and you need to stay alert of any suspicious links or messages in the inbox or instant messenger.

There has been a virus which is spreading through MSN / Live messenger which shows you a link in the IM window with a text which says

“Hi,this is your photo? – Some link here.

Do not click on the link on this message, this takes you to a url which infects your computer with this virus. It downloads a virus file called Picture_2525.exe and installs it.


If you have accidentally clicked this link, below is the method to remove this virus manually.

How To Fix The Problem?:
I recommend that you always use a good antivirus tool, free or paid, with real-time protection which can save you from such viruses.

If this virus has already infected your computer, follow following procedure:

1. Open Windows Task Manager (press Ctrl+Shift+Esc simultaneously), go to the Processes tab and right click at the processes below and select End Process:

svlost.exe
svlostSrv.exe
tasman.exe

2. Then simultanously press Win+R to bring up the Run window and type the following command.

sc delete svlostServices

3. Delete the files listed below in Windows\System32 folder.

libeay32.dll
ssleay32.dll
svlost.exe
svlosta.dll
svlostb.dll
svlostSrv.exe
tasman.exe

4. Again simultanously press WIN+R to bring up Run window and type the two commands below. Type once, hit enter and then continue to the second one.

reg delete "hkcu\software\microsoft\internet explorer\main" /v default_page_url /f
reg delete "hkcu\software\microsoft\internet explorer\main" /v "Start Page" /f

The virus has been completely removed from your computer. However, I’d still advice you to change your MSN password just to be on the safe side.

Source – www.raymond.cc

Hey! My friends, If you like my post you can save it using "Save Page as PDF" button below and you can even share them to your friends with social networking buttons provided below this post.

Add To Google BookmarksStumble ThisFav This With TechnoratiAdd To Del.icio.usDigg ThisAdd To RedditTwit ThisAdd To FacebookAdd To Yahoo

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

WIMP : Windows Malware Protection Tool

Windows Malware Protection (or "Wimp") is a freeware utility that helps protect your system from malicious trojans and worms. It was initially designed to remove the many common "flash drive" viruses , i.e. those that spread through USB flash drives; currently, It detects and removes more than 15 of these "flash drive" viruses.

It also prevents malicious programs from disabling Task Manager and Registry Editor, and also prevents changes to many other system settings. This application does not have a visual interface, does not require any installation, so you can execute directly on computer. Once it started running it will show up only in windows system tray.

Whenever this program detects a virus it automatically removes it and displays an alert box near the taskbar. Wimp also blocks automated scripts (such as VBScript files) from running on your computer, since some viruses spread in this manner.

To make the best use of Wimp, place it in your Startup folder: Go to Start > Programs, right-click on Startup and select Open, Create a shortcut to Wimp in this folder.

Anytime if you want to disable wimp you just need to right click the system tray icon and select disable wimp.


Download WIMP From HERE

Try Similar Tools – Ninja Pendisk and iKill.

Note: iKill will require .net framework 2.0 to be installed on your computer to run.

Hey! My friends, If you like my post you can save it using "Save Page as PDF" button below and you can even share them to your friends with social networking buttons provided below this post.

Add To Google BookmarksStumble ThisFav This With TechnoratiAdd To Del.icio.usDigg ThisAdd To RedditTwit ThisAdd To FacebookAdd To Yahoo

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

How to Save Facebook Chat History?

Facebook Chat History on Facebook.com is only temporary. Indeed, Facebook Chat history can be easily removed by pressing “clear chat history” or by exiting the Facebook chat popup window.

There are, however, two solutions that make it possible for your Facebook Chat history to be automatically or manually saved. You can use a Facebook Messenger such as Chit Chat for Facebook or a browser add-on like Facebook Chat History Manager to save your Facebook Chat History.

With a Facebook Messenger, Facebook Chat history can be both automatically and manually saved.

By automatically saving Facebook Chat history you can ensure that you don’t forget to save a conversation that you want. Moreover, Facebook Chat Messengers will time and date stamp your conversations. Additionally, the Facebook Chat history will be saved on your computer as opposed to on Facebook.

Chit Chat for Facebook:
Chit Chat for Facebook is a Facebook Instant Messenger that enables you to use Facebook Chat from your desktop.

The image below provides an indication how the Facebook Chat History stored by Chit Chat for Facebook.


With regard to Facebook Chat History, Chit Chat for Facebook makes it possible to automatically save all instant messages sent and received on Facebook Chat. Usefully, Chit Chat also provides a date and time stamp in its chat logs. Uniquely, Chit Chat for Facebook not only saves the formatting of messages (bold and italic) it also saves the emoticons used.

Facebook Chat History of a particular conversation can also be manually saved by clicking on “save conversation.”

Facebook Chat History Browser add-on:
If you’re a Firefox user, then there is a Facebook Chat History browser add-on suitably named Facebook Chat History Manager . Whilst it’s an experimental build, it did work fine for me. I especially like the way in which it indexes your conversations by person and by time period in a central location. However, I found that to get it working it is much more technical and complicated than using a Facebook Messenger.

I also found it annoying that it uses the current tab window rather than opening a new one – so if you are on Facebook Chat in Firefox and then go to view your Facebook Chat history this application effectively logs you out.

For example, you need to identify Facebook’s ten digit ID number for your Facebook profile page.

Hey! My friends, If you like my post you can save it using "Save Page as PDF" button below and you can even share them to your friends with social networking buttons provided below this post.

Add To Google BookmarksStumble ThisFav This With TechnoratiAdd To Del.icio.usDigg ThisAdd To RedditTwit ThisAdd To FacebookAdd To Yahoo

Monday, March 1, 2010

Your Email Address And Blogger Account

One of the promises of Blogger, which makes a Blogger blog such an asset to the masses of the world, is the freedom to publish without being forceably identifiable. Anonimity is a major advantage, for many who publish Blogger blogs. But there are a few downsides to anonymity, and one is seen when we try to edit our blogs.
 
Some bloggers load a blog in the browser window, then click on the "Sign In" link in the navbar, in the expectation that they are signing in to that blog. For folks who only maintain a single Blogger account, and who have enabled the proper security settings, this will appear to be what's happening. But, it's not.
 
When you sign in to Blogger, you are using a double blind system. Blogger requires you to tell them what account, and what password, you want used. They don't pick an account for you, based upon the blog currently displayed.
 
If your cookies are properly enabled, the Blogger login process will remember what Blogger/Google account you used, most recently, and try to have you login using that account. If you are currently signed in to Analytics, GMail, Picasa, or any of many other Google products, you may already be signed in to Blogger too. This also happens when you, inadvertently, created a second Blogger account.
 
If
  • You display your blog before signing in to Blogger.
  • Your blog is owned by a Blogger account that's related to your Analytics, GMail, or Picasa account.
  • You always sign in to that account before signing into Blogger.
Then it may appear that you are signing into your Blogger account based upon your blog. This is, however, a deceptive appearance.

When you login to Blogger, always check and verify what account is displayed for Account Name. Save yourself some trouble. Alternately, verify ownership after you login.
 
Hey! My friends, If you like my post you can save it using "Save Page as PDF" button below and you can even share them to your friends with social networking buttons provided below this post.

Add To Google BookmarksStumble ThisFav This With TechnoratiAdd To Del.icio.usDigg ThisAdd To RedditTwit ThisAdd To FacebookAdd To Yahoo